Arts & Culture: John Paul Gaultier @ DDP

I’m currently waiting for my laundry to finish in the washing machine before I go out to see Busan – so what better time to upload a post?

One fine day, I was feeling particularly in the mood for looking at art and visiting museums, and found myself at the 동대문디자인플라자 Dongdaemun Design Plaza, located just in front of 동대문역사문화공원역 Dongdaemun History and Culture Park Station.  This replaced the old baseball stadium that was located here, and holds a number of exhibition halls, eateries, and was recently the location of Seoul Fashion Week.  One exhibit that caught my interest was the John Paul Gaultier exhibit.

The exhibit opened from March 26 and is running through to June 30, 2016 in the Design Exhibition Hall, and I believe that Seoul is the only Asian location that this exhibit will be visiting.  Tickets are 15000W for adults, 12000W for students (high school and under), and 8000W for children, although I believe Koreans may be able to receive a discount with a Hyundai card.

Its a fantastic exhibit with a number of themes, but you can see JPG’s mark on each piece.  Some of the pieces were not exactly “my style”, but they were all fantastic, and the amount of details that went into creating each design was amazing.  Here are some of the designs from the exhibit.

IMG_3798

IMG_3838

IMG_3870

IMG_4009I have more photos – but obviously, I don’t want to give away the whole exhibit.  The exhibit was really amazing, and quite creative.  Some of the dummies had faces projected on to them, and they would talk and sing – honestly, the first time I realised, it freaked me out.  I really enjoyed the exhibit, and would highly recommend that you visit if you’re in Seoul before the end of June.  Even if you choose not to see the exhibit, the Dongdaemun Design Plaza is still worth visiting – the architecture is pretty cool.

Do you enjoy fashion exhibitions?  Or do you prefer more traditional art exhibitions?  Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Arts & Culture: John Paul Gaultier @ DDP

  1. wauw looks really interesting 🙂 I like both traditional and contemporary art (including traditional and contemporary fashion) but depending on my mood I tend to switch from one side to the other :p Thanks for sharing! Love the pictures

Leave a Reply

